Cyrenaica (after the city of Cyrene) is the eastern coastal region of Libya. Also known as Pentapolis in antiquity, it was part of the Creta et Cyrenaica province during the Roman period, later divided in Libia Pentapolis and Libia Sicca. During the Islamic period, the area came to be known as Barqa, after the city of Barca.

Cyrenaica was the name of an administrative division of Italian Libya from 1927 until 1943, then under British military and civil administration from 1943 until 1951, and finally in the Kingdom of Libya from 1951 until 1963. In a wider sense, which is still used, Cyrenaica is composed of all of the eastern part of Libya, including the Kufra District. Cyrenaica is adjacent to Tripolitania in the northwest and Fezzan in the southwest. The region that used to be Cyrenaica officially until 1963 is now divided up into several shabiyat, the administrative divisions of Libya.

Cyrenaica was the birthplace of the Libyan civil war, and was largely under the control of the National Transitional Council for most of the war; their headquarters were in Benghazi.

Formation Date 2013-11-3
Territory 855370.00 (Sq. Km)
Population 1613749
Conflict Name Initiation Year Termination Year Total Killed Total Casuality
Libyan Civil War 2014 – Present 2014 ongoing unknown unknown
Establishment Date Territory Area
2014 855370.00
Date Military Personnel
Date Expenditure Exchange Rate Us Doller Equivalence
Date Population
2006 1613749